The seasons 10th ton by Yash Rathore & an all-round performance by Taimur help Menara CC beat WPP India XI easily

In the TATA Motors JCA League, a high quality game of cricket, led by debutant Yash Rathore’s aggressive century (100 runs) and an all-round display by Taimur Khan (6/49 and 77 not out) saw Menara get the better of last season’s finalist and favorites WPP India XI in a division 1 encounter at the GMIS Grounds on Sunday.  
On a ground where defending a score is not easy, WPP’s decision to bat first upon winning the toss was received with a fair amount of surprise. WPP started cautiously reaching 62/2 at the first drinks break of 12 overs. A further 104 runs were added in the second session before Taimur Khan with his accurate swing bowling struck twice on the brink of the second drinks break to leave WPP at 166/4 after 24 overs. Taimur’s career best haul of 6/49 supported by wicket-keeper Deepak Khullar with 3 brilliant stumpings and some fine catching in the outfield ensured WPP XI were all-out for 238 runs. Atul Kakkar took 2/40. WPP’s innings was held together by Pallav Malhotra, who scored a fine 60 runs, supported by Rahul Pagad (31 runs) and Gaurav Pathak (27 runs)
In response, an aggressive cameo by Rahul Thukral who scored 30 runs off just 15 balls was just the right recipe that Menara needed to set the tone for the chase. In walked debutant Yash Rathore joining opener Taimur Khan who together provided the most enterprising period of the game with their match winning partnership. Yash while carving out a fine century and becoming the highest individual scorer for Menara CC in this format of the game, fell while exactly on 100 runs with Menara just within striking distance of the target. However, Taimur playing the sheet anchor role and his determination to stay till the end ensured there were no jitters as Menara romped home by 7 wickets with more than 2 overs to spare. Taimur remained unbeaten on 77 runs, scoring his first half-century of the season.

Thanks to umpires Suren & Viplow Singh from TKCC for umpiring the game