Kiruba, Viraj & William power Victorious Secret to win the JCA T20 Tournament 2016 after a huge win over Jaguar CC at GMIS grounds on Sunday

Victorious Secret capped their dominant season performance off with a comprehensive 46 run win over Jaguar CC to take home the JCA T20 2016 trophy.

Saturday’s heavy rains & flooding across many part of Jakarta, meant that the Sunday started with many anxious eyes on the weather forecast for the day. This also meant the toss was going to be crucial. Jaguar CC won the toss and chose to field first.

The opening bowlers, Aman Singh & Dhimanshu started well with the first 4 overs going just for 17 runs. After this cautious start, the batsmen Viraj Bhammar (57) & William Noronha (35) decided to step on the accelerator and went after the 3rd overs of both the opening bowlers, taking 34 runs off the 5th & 6th overs. With the run-rate back on track, both the batsmen found their rhythm and put together a match-winning partnership of 88 runs.

William, eventually fell in the 10th over, plumb in front, after having missed a tempter from Marten Eddy. With 88 runs in the first 10 overs, Victorious Secret were off to a great start and looked set to post a big total. Enter, Jagdeep Singh, who, has made a habit of changing the course of games. He claimed the big wicket of Viraj Bhammar in his 2nd over and bowled an excellent spell of 2/16 off his 4 overs. However, he didn’t get much support from the other end as the slower bowlers went for plenty. A subdued Kirubasankar (47), played a very good hand and held the innings together while a few wickets fell at the other end. Despite a tight last 3 overs, Victorious Secret would have been the happier side going into the break having made 163/6 in their 20 overs.

The Jaguar CC reply began disastrously as they lost a wicket in each of the first 5 overs and crumbled to 32/5. Desandri Candil Saputra (3/30), easily the most promising Indonesian young player, struck a great rhythm and swung the ball late to rattle the batsmen. His wicket of Malik Thariani, bowled round-the-legs was a special treat to watch. David Surjit (2/29) also bowled well from the other end & accounted for the dangerous Dhimanshu.

Kirubasankar (0/11 off 4 overs) then bowled a few tight overs to ensure that Jaguar never had a chance of getting to the target. Marten Eddy (24) & Ansar Subramanian (29) put on a few runs, but by that stage, they were batting more for pride than a win. They played out the overs to finish at 117/9 in their 20 overs.

William Noronha, who is now the most successful captain in JCA history was delighted with his team’s win. “Iam very happy that everyone in the team contributed when it mattered & it was this team-performance that helped us win the tournament” he said.

“A bit disappointed that things didn’t go our way today, but we are very happy with the way we performed in this tournament” said the disappointed Jaguar CC captain Anwar Pasha.

Kirubasankar was named the Man of the Match of the finals for his superb all-round act, including a fabulous catch on the boundary.

“The T-20 tournament started as an off-season filler, but has now become a very keenly contested fixture in JCA. Congrats to the winners and all the other teams as well for the passion & interest shown” said Avakash Lohia, President, JCA.

Thanks to Faheem & Suresh Subramanian for umpiring the finals

Jaguar CC Runners-up T20 2016