An action-packed weekend kicked off with a last ball thriller win for JCA Presidents XI over the Finalists XI on Saturday

In a new initiative, the JCA Presidents XI (a selection of the best XI from last year) took on a combined team from the Division 1 finalists of least season in a 25 overs game played at Cibubur on Saturday.

After choosing to bat first, Corbon Loughnan 44 & Harish Tiwari 43 got the Presidents XI off to a quick start. The introduction of spin in the form of Gaurang 3/35 & Aman Singh 2/37 pulled things back well. Faisal’s 33 and a few cameos from Hitesh & Swaroop helped President’s XI reach 212/9 in 25 overs

Ben Burgess 2/25 took a couple of early wickets to put some pressure. But, Viraj Bhammar 93no dug in well & he got good support from Pallav 37 & Bob Plath 32no. A few tight overs of spin from Scott Masson & Corbon ensured that the Finalists XI needed 10 off the last over. Despite the first ball going for a boundary, 3 runs were needed to win off the last ball. Off the last ball, Corbon ensured that Bob Plath could only manage a single, making the Presidents XI the first winners of the JCA Presidents Cup in a fascinating & evenly matched contest.

Thanks to the umpires Gopal & Fahim and all the spectators who came down to support the game.

Click to see Scorecard